Thanksgiving

By Morgan Petit-Homme

I spent a little time thinking about what thankfulness really meant to me.

If I’m honest, I’ve never really gotten a good grasp on the idea of “prayers of Thanksgiving”. It always sounded like a great idea; it always sounded so powerful and important. I’d wonder what that was supposed to look like for my life; I would think about it for a moment and then move on to something else. 

But then I had a dream.

It was full of people I love. People I miss. People I wish I had better relationships with.

And somehow I just completely understood. I was overwhelmed by the dream and emotions. 

It might not translate, but I’d like to share the beautiful moment that captured Thanksgiving in the dream.

I was in a new place with old, familiar faces.

I saw friends from college that I admittedly do a horrible job keeping up with, but often think of with great fondness. I saw some people from my old “church” that I respected but wasn’t in real, deep relationship with. I saw someone that I thought I had deeply known for a number of years, but they turned out to be someone whom I didn’t really understand and they never really knew or understood me either. 

And then I saw two boys, whom I love and care for and pray for often.

I saw them playing around with each other. I was shocked by how much they had grown since the last time I saw them. But I was glad to see that they were just as curious, adventurous, and playful as they have always been.

I sat there for a moment to soak in the sights and sounds of them.

And then I called them and they came running, confused but happy to see me. I told them “I love you”. And they giggled, as kids do.

A flood of emotions, a wave of happiness crashed over me. 

I was thankful, no matter how complex or simple the relationship, no matter how long or short I’d known the people in my dream.

I was thankful that they knew me and that I knew them. I was glad to see and hear about their lives and that they would do the same for me.

I was full of love and Thanksgiving.

Overwhelming gratitude, the kind that sends you to your knees in worship, in awe of the work He’s done, that’s what thanksgiving feels like to me.

The more I grow, the more life I experience, the more I overcome, the more I realize how thankful I should be for every day that I get the chance to smile and receive and give love.

Every day there is something to be thankful for, even on your worst day.

Make it a daily practice. For the first two weeks, every day acknowledge one thing your grateful for. The next two weeks find three things, and so on. It can really help to change your perspective and priorities.  


Author: Morgan Petit-Homme

Morgan has always had a compassionate heart, concerned with combating the injustices that many people face in this world. Morgan is passionate about seeing people educated and providing opportunities and spaces for open and honest dialogue. 


Follow our blog to get notifications for more posts like this!

Leave a comment